Request Input - Master's Degree Term Project

Dan P

Fellow woodworkers, I am seeking your input and feedback for a new machine concept I am developing as my term project for my masters degree.

As a brief background, in addition to my day normal job, I am in my last semester for my masters degree in systems engineering. For those unfamiliar with this discipline, it is one that develops a concept and specification document for a complex system to be built. The process by which this specification document is created is by generating requirements which are ultimately derived into a specification through the process. It is these requirements that are important, and they come from numerous discussions and input from users, like yourselves.

As woodworking has been a passion and hobby of mine for 2 years now, I thought it best to use my interest to fulfill my term project needs. However, to do so, I request the input of any that are willing to participate in the development of this school project. Should you be willing, I ask that you monitor and contribute to this thread as I plan to use this as the means to discuss.

I have generically named the project the "Woodworking Helper 1000", as the concept is to be a multi-function machine. While I know these machines are by no means something new, my concept is to incorporate a computer controlled aspect that has a user interface. It may sound complicated, but the aim is to develop this system for beginners to the craft, those wanting to improve their skill, or those seeking to automate aspects of their building process.

To begin the process, here are some initial thoughts to consider:

• As a multi-function machine, what functionality would you want? I.e. planer, jointer, saw, drilling. Etc. (Note, don't be concerned with the technical aspects/challenges of implementing as that is my job. Only consider the functionality it should have)