I am a veteran (Army infantry, '68-'70), and I love my country and respect the anthem, the flag, and the bald eagle. However, I do not worship them. I see weather-worn flags hanging down or wrapped around on poles everywhere. Some folks use the flag in clothes, drapes, table clothes and art work as a display honoring our country and people. The flag in the combat picture is covering a dead brother while touching the body bag and the tarp beneath it. The death is a tragic loss. The flag touching anything does not diminish its meaning. White is proud to be an American and to have won a gold medal for America, and is overcome with the emotion of the win as are the bothers of their loss. We should be proud, also.

hat 

Edited by hatuffej

This goes more into the depth of how our American culture has focused more on self, a narcissist culture is permeating our nation, where as the title of my topic is All About Me, is more where my personal feelings on this lay. This topic is symbolic more about the direction our American culture is heading, it's All About Me. I am an Army Veteran, but this has nothing to do with my service, yet more about the direction our nation is heading. 

I can separate Shaun's deeds from his moral misstep, he does a wonderful job, till the very end.

4 hours ago, John Morris said:

This goes more into the depth of how our American culture has focused more on self, a narcissist culture is permeating our nation, where as the title of my topic is All About Me, is more where my personal feelings on this lay. This topic is symbolic more about the direction our American culture is heading, it's All About Me. I am an Army Veteran, but this has nothing to do with my service, yet more about the direction our nation is heading. 

I can separate Shaun's deeds from his moral misstep, he does a wonderful job, till the very end.

We are on the same page, John.

Herb

35 minutes ago, Gene Howe said: