Strawberry Orange Banana Lime Leaf Slate Sky Blueberry Grape Watermelon Chocolate Marble
Strawberry Orange Banana Lime Leaf Slate Sky Blueberry Grape Watermelon Chocolate Marble
HandyDan

California Tries Hard But.

I am a retired environmental engineer. I worked in air pollution control and groundwater cleanup. Over the last 30 years, I have learned that it is human nature to deny the existence of a problem until it becomes so painfully obvious it can no longer be denied, Unfortunately, by then mitigation will be much more difficult and expensive to do, if possible at all. I prefer proactive prevention  rather than reactive cleanup. When working with the general public, we found they didn't understand what we were talking about in terms of science, engineering, or risks. Politics and corporate influence seriously impair understanding. Pollution is pervasive and long-lasting.

For some reason, people will believe politicians before they will believe scientists. Can't figure out why this is so. Politicians are notorious liars.

2 hours ago, It Was Al B said:

For some reason, people will believe politicians before they will believe scientists. Can't figure out why this is so. Politicians are notorious liars.

Hello Al. Part of the reason is human psychology and the comfort of denial. We would have to accept responsibility and take action if we believed them. Politicians lie to make us feel good, "Trust us. If there's a problem, we'll fix it." Pollution prevention is difficult and expensive, mitigation is many times worse. 

Everything that is wrong with America is to be found in California...

says a lot for the ruling faction(s)..

10 hours ago, Stick486 said:

Everything that is wrong with America is to be found in California...

says a lot for the ruling faction(s)..

True enough but, lets not forget the cesspool found in DC.

2 minutes ago, Gene Howe said:

True enough but, lets not forget the cesspool found in DC.