Strawberry Orange Banana Lime Leaf Slate Sky Blueberry Grape Watermelon Chocolate Marble
Strawberry Orange Banana Lime Leaf Slate Sky Blueberry Grape Watermelon Chocolate Marble

Rate this topic

To each his own. I'm just a hobbyist one man shop. I had thought about ducting in dust collection, but decided not too. It doesn't take that long to wheel the dc over to each machine and hook it up, and this way I can keep the run to a minimum and efficient length, plus saw money not having to buy all the ducting. It's I was a more then one man shop then a permanent ducted system would make more sense.

Something I will not put in the blog is safety. Dust collection is not an option just to say I have it. It is there to improve the likehood that you will not wind up with super dust allergies or plugged lungs on oxygen. That is unless you want to wear a respirator all the time and not just when you sand. Like Fred I usually leave the DC on most of the time I am in the shop and just shuffle the gates.

Charlie I am just giving the options I am familiar with. Sorry hauling a DC to each machine only leads to saving time by just making the cut without and then you might as well not have anything to catch dust.

Then there is that other dust source : what is on the floor. When the dust the DC does not collect hits the floor and as fans blow and you walk thru it the dust will be redistributed into the air and you are back where you started in a manner of speaking. So cleaning the floor is also important.

By the way the next installment may be two weeks or more away, but will be coming.