Strawberry Orange Banana Lime Leaf Slate Sky Blueberry Grape Watermelon Chocolate Marble
Strawberry Orange Banana Lime Leaf Slate Sky Blueberry Grape Watermelon Chocolate Marble

The Patriot Woodworkers with Operation Ward 57 Adopt a Wounded Warrior Family for the Holidays - 2019 project is live, please click on link to view our very special annual project.

Rate this topic

I'm a newbie to this task. I have red oak kitchen cabinets that I want to sand and restain.
My problem is the length of time it takes to sand down ONE door. and I have about 35 doors
to refinish. They are what I believe are called "raised panel" doors, but there are about 6
different edges - 4 are about 1/8 inch. In addition, the surface of one inset has a curved
profile. I bought a rotary sander that works great on the flat areas. BUT, I am shopping
around for "detail sanding" tools and not having luck finding the right tool. Yes, I found a
sanding sponge with an edge - still a lot of manual work ! I've been looking at oscillating
sanding tools, but am striking out. I also see a "sanding mop" out there - pretty pricey and
I'm not sure how well it works. If it works, I'd pay the price... WHAT DETAIL SANDING
TOOLS SHOULD I BE USING ? thanks for any shared wisdom ! 
dmypub

CabinetDoor.jpg

welcome to TPW what's your name...

the best detail sander I have used is a Fein MutiMaster and PSA paper...

I've used the PC and Ryobie and they aren't worth the money if you were paid to take them...

you could cast a matching profile from Bondo or casting rubber...

What are you going to do after they are sanded? What is on them now? Would a stripper work,then a light sanding? Are you going to re-stain or paint? and what are you going to use for a clear finish,if you stain? If this is the factory finish, it is probably a lacquer finish on them now.

Just a suggestion, but you might take a door to a paint store and see what they recommend for a stripper.

Herb

4 minutes ago, Dadio said: